The Secrets

ROCKONZ Rock Hall Of Fame
First Name· Last Name· Groups· Venues· Events· Entities· Submit· e-Mail· Links· Search


The Secrets
Rob Carpenter (Bass Guitar), Wayne Allen (Drums), Derek Wright (Lead Guitar) and Brian Dean (Rhythm Guitar)


Rob Carpenter, Brian Dean, Wayne Allen and Derek Wright

Derek Wright, Wayne Allen, Brian Dean and Rob Carpenter


The Secrets  —  Resident at The Plainsman and latterly The Pride Of Place, Christchurch circa 1965
Gary Thain (Bass Guitar), Derek Wright (Lead Guitar), Paul Muggleston (Rhythm Guitar) and Wayne Allen (Drums)


The Thain, Allen, Wright and Muggleston line-up of the Secrets was unsuccessfully nominated for the inaugural Loxene Golden Disc Award in 1965 with their single It's You / You're Wrong - the award of course going to Ray Columbus and The Invaders for 'Til We Kissed.  The group took over co-residency with The Others at The Pride of Place (after the demise of Les Street and The Alleys).  Ultimately Thain and Muggleston would merge with Dawkins and Chapman of The Others to form Me and The Others - the group which was to cut new ground by moving to the UK and Germany in early 1966.


One of the last incarnations of The Mk2 Secrets
Jimmy Deverall (Vox Continental Organ), Brian Dean (Guitar), Derek Wright (Bass) and Murray Wright (Drums)


With Gary Thain and Paul Muggleston off to the UK, and Wayne Allen joining The Echophonics, Derek Wright was left effectively bandless and so he recruited his brother Murray on drums and Jimmy Deverill on VOX Continental Organ.  This would turn out to be the last incarnation of The Secrets.


Additional Paul Muggleston and related groups information is available on the following individual pages, as well as the Official Paul Muggleston Website .....


Use links to supplementary data Apaches   º    Dices   º    Atlantics   º    Dynamics   º    Secrets   º    Others   º    Me + The Others   º    Paul's Idea   º    Just Us Use links to supplementary data


Use links to supplementary data Use links to supplementary data