Johnny Campbell and The Detours

ROCKONZ Rock Hall Of Fame
First Name· Last Name· Groups· Venues· Events· Entities· Submit· e-Mail· Links· About
Previous ROCKONZ Rock Hall Of Fame entry .... ROCKONZ Rock Hall Of Fame complete list .... Next ROCKONZ Rock Hall Of Fame entry ....

Birthplace:  Christchurch 1962 (as "The Torments")
Lead Vocals:  Judith Turtill, Johnny Campbell, Peter + Paul Talbot
Lead Guitar:  Johnny Campbell
Rhythm Guitar:  Garry Mullholland, Paul Sargison, Brian Bligh
Larry McKay, Paul Talbot
Saxophone:  Jim Phillips
Bass Guitar:  Michael Robinson, Trevor Wright
Drums:  Bob Barrett, John Clinton, Graham Hanham
Residencies:  Surf City, The Laredo Nitespot, The Mecca Nitespot
Record Label:  Robbins Recordings

  Award presented 2009


At Surf City

At The Laredo Nitespot

At The Carlyle Street Teenagers' Club


Johnny Campbell and The Detours epitomised the young Rock 'n' Roll bands of the early 1960s.  They played the church dance circuit and grew to take over Max Merritt's parents' Christchurch Youth Club Sunday afternoon gig when Max Merritt and The Meteors moved to Auckland.  They experimented with their early "Robbins" recordings and developed a distinctive sound which made their "Surf City" gig one of the most popular, and distinctively different, of the era.  They later moved into town to take up residence at the Laredo Nitespot on Christchurch's Cambridge Terrace, where they inherited the top slot from Dave Miller and The Playboys (later to morph into, Dave Miller and The Byrds).  The high-point of the band's career was opening the Rolling Stones/Roy Orbison show in Christchurch in February of 1965.  After a short reformation with Peter and Paul Talbot on board - and a residency at The Mecca Nitespot, the group finally broke up in 1966.  During their lifetime the band released two singles on the Robbins Recordings Label  —  Murphy The Surfie / April In Portugal and My Girl / I Just Can't Go To Sleep


At The Cashmere Club 2009

At The Cashmere Club 2009